Tiny Combat Ship Components

Discussion in 'General' started by Cannonman, Jun 7, 2012.

1. Cannonman

Cannonman Ultimate Hero :P -->> C T D <<--

Just throwing out a question to all who have built some of the mini ships out there. I just started playing around with a destroyer, and I'm wondering what has been used with success as far as..... 1) batteries 2) motors 3) prop shafts/ stuffing tubes 4) weapons systems 5) servos 6) anything else that might be useful....... Thanks

2. DarrenScott

DarrenScott -->> C T D <<--

Well, my tiny tug isn't armed, but it did utilise some little bits.
    The battery is a 3600 mAh nimh transmitter pack, the one servo is a quarter-sized one, the pump is literally one inch in dia by one inch high, and the ESC is even smaller.
    I went for a conventional 380 mabuchi for the motor, direct drive, just for reliability's sake.
    The battery lays flat in the bottom of the hull, for stability.

3. buttsakauf

buttsakauf Well-Known Member

I have done the calculations with on hand components and can build a 1000 ton unarmed vessel including the use of a speed control and a pump with no additional depth added. With almost all formats you can get away with adding 3/8" to the hull depth. In some small guys that doubles their displacement. I have a thing for minesweepers.
    Das Butts
    Mineman Second Class, USN

4. Tugboat

Tugboat Facilitator RCWC Staff Admiral (Supporter)