USS Montana

Discussion in 'Ship Plans' started by 3than, Nov 25, 2019.

Tags:
  1. 3than

3than Member

Hi I would like to build a model of the USS Montana or a ship of the same class, and I would like to know where I could get such plans(Front, aft and side view with bulkheads, as I would like to make it with a wood frame, balsa wood hull, and fiberglass coating)

2. Nibbles1

Nibbles1 Well-Known Member

Welcome! I think Strike Models has plans. I'm not sure where you can get a hull though...
    Just remember: Montana isn't legal for fast gun.

3. 3than

3than Member

Why is it not legal for fast gun? Is it because of the gun caliber?

4. 3than

3than Member

Also I am new to this so what is the rule with bulkheads? and do you put a protected citadel in to waterproof equipment?

5. Julian Barbera

Julian Barbera Active Member

The Montana was never built and is not on the IRCWCC ship list. Assuming your building to IRCWCC rules.

6. 3than

3than Member

Ok. I might build a Montana for big gun and a Des Moines for fast gun

7. 3than

3than Member

Where can I purchase the guns or figure out how to make them?

8. Julian Barbera

Julian Barbera Active Member

Since there is no commercial manufacturer of big gun style guns, your best bet is making your own. Look around this site for information on that. I'm not a fast gunner but Battlers Connection sells high-quality fast gun kits.

9. Kevin P.

Kevin P. Well-Known Member

Hey there,
    I'm in Alexandria, we have a pretty good IRCWCC group in the DMV area. It's much easier to answer questions in person. We are planning on a build session in Annapolis on 12/7 where there will be about 20 boats to look at, including a few Des Moines.

Gun availability is a non-issue for fast gun. You can get good reliable guns from BC, we can show you how to make guns, or possibly make some for cost of parts (about $10 each). Plenty of loaner ships available as I have way too many operational ships to use them all.