USS Roanoke (Worcester class light cruiser)

Discussion in 'Warship Builds' started by rcengr, May 31, 2010.

1. rcengr

rcengr Vendor

I started building a USS Roanoke this week. I'm new to the ship combat hobby, but I'm a longtime modeler looking for something different to work on. R/C ship combat looked interesting, but I wasn't really ready to take the plunge. Then last Saturday I attended a build session hosted by Mikey, where I learned how to mark up a hull and put in a subdeck. I also spent sometime looking through Mikey's copy of Conways and of course asking a lot of questions. I left the build session ready to start on my own model. I liked the look of the Worcester/Roanoke and decided to start one as my first build. It will have plenty of room and being only a 3 unit ship I will not have to buy a lot of equipment.
    Fortunately, the USS Worcester has a great website that includes scanned copies of the original ships plans. I downloaded the hull profiles the next day and fired up the CAD program. After a several of days of computer work, I had my drawings done and and was ready to start cutting out parts.
    I have a small hobby CNC mill that I use to cut my parts. The advantage of the CNC is very precise parts, but I'm also limited to parts 12" or less in length, so I had to break up the bigger parts. I had some issues with cutting the parts, but for the most part it went well. The only serious issue was that I under estimated the amount of 1/8 ply I needed, and had to stop work to make a hobby shop run.
    Mark
    [​IMG]

2. rcengr

rcengr Vendor

I started by cutting a complet kit of parts. Below you can see the ribs being started. I'm using a 1/16" end mill to cut the parts, which does a good job but leaves the corners in the notches a little rounded. I had to recut two ribs and one of the mid-deck parts, but all the rest of the parts came out ok the first time.
    Just getting started on the rib sheet...
    [​IMG]