Wanting to build a Destroyer

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Alfred Jarvis, Mar 31, 2015.

1. Alfred Jarvis

Alfred Jarvis New Member

Im new to all of this and have known about it for a few years, but now i have a job that allows me to afford one of these ships for myself. Id love to build something small and saw that some members on here have built destroyers (which are ridiculously small) and I thought it'd be cool as i can fit it in my room without taking space building it either. Any suggestions or help would be awesome, I have vague ideas where to start but thats about it.
    Quick Edit* I don't want to put guns on it until i find a group, I would just like to have an RC warship i can get used to and take out to my local college and run it around in the lake there.

2. NickMyers

NickMyers Admin RCWC Staff

Welcome aboard. You haven't specified where in Texas, but @jadfer is a good person to start talking to to find out who is most local to you.

Really recommend against a destroyer as a first build. If small is a necessity, look into some of the smaller dreadnoughts and pre-dreadnoughts as they're easier rookie builds than a destroyer.

3. SteveT44

SteveT44 Well-Known Member

Agreed, a DD is a challenge even for an experienced builder. As far as adding a gun to one later, well that's a bit impractical IMO. A DD is built around it's gun (and CO2 system) so building an "empty" DD and adding the offensive bit later would be very difficult.

4. Alfred Jarvis

Alfred Jarvis New Member

in that case, just something small that i can take out every now and then, I know the only group in my area is in Houston, and I'm in San Antonio, so its a bit of a drive for a college student. potentially 1 gun if anything.

5. Lou

Lou Plastic magic -->> C T D <<-- Admiral (Supporter)