Waterproofing

Discussion in 'Construction' started by captainponderous, Dec 22, 2015.

  1. rcaircraftnut

    rcaircraftnut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2016
    Posts:
    1,520
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    If you want one let me know and I will resend it your way.
     
  2. rcaircraftnut

    rcaircraftnut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2016
    Posts:
    1,520
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Got some of that e6000 to try, thanks for the suggestion Steve. On another note, do I need to coat my battery connections? What about other electrical connections? I have a fear of shorting out stuff, after being a Navy electrician I think I should know the answer but it's best to ask, lol.
     
    Last edited: May 9, 2016
  3. SteveT44

    SteveT44 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,867
    Location:
    MD
    On electrical shorts, I cover anything that a bb could get wedged into. On the E6000, it will gravity flow and conform to whatever you put it on so only do one side of a board at a time. When applying I use a magnifying glass to make sure I don't miss any parts of the board or components. I typically use two coats.

    Great respect for Navy electricians. I'm an old GSM myself.
     
  4. GeekSpeed

    GeekSpeed Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Posts:
    247
    Location:
    SoCal
    Hey guys.

    If you are using E600o or Scotchkote, do you need to prep the receiver or pump switch (the kind you get from Hobby King) before-hand? Will the coating interfere with the electronics? My receiver has exposed pins, and I was worried that coating it in something would cause the rx to die.
     
  5. NickMyers

    NickMyers Admin RCWC Staff

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Posts:
    4,409
    Location:
    Federal Way, WA
    Skotchkote needs no prep other than to clean off any dirt or other residual nasty you may have on your item (and to be sure you're ready to seal it up, no more soldering needed, etc)
     
  6. GeekSpeed

    GeekSpeed Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Posts:
    247
    Location:
    SoCal
    What about the E6000? I can get that locally easy and cheap.
     
  7. NickMyers

    NickMyers Admin RCWC Staff

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Posts:
    4,409
    Location:
    Federal Way, WA
    far as I know E6000 is not electrically conductive and you should be able to just apply it to a clean surface
     
  8. GeekSpeed

    GeekSpeed Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Posts:
    247
    Location:
    SoCal
    Awesome, thanks.

    I am just using HK/Turnigy stuff for this, so if I kill it, not a big loss.
     
  9. GeekSpeed

    GeekSpeed Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Posts:
    247
    Location:
    SoCal
    Ok, last dumb question.

    How do you apply the stuff? With a brush?
     
  10. NickMyers

    NickMyers Admin RCWC Staff

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Posts:
    4,409
    Location:
    Federal Way, WA
    e-6000 just sort of flows. id put the item in question on a sheet of wax paper or something similar and just squeeze some out middle-ish and see how it goes from there. Once that side is set up, flip for the other.

    skotchkote cans have a lid-brush for ease of mess making
     
  11. Beaver

    Beaver 2020 Rookie of the Year Admiral (Supporter)

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2013
    Posts:
    3,695
    Location:
    Central PA
    For E6000 (which I use to waterproof all my RC gear) I apply it thick and then hang it up and let it flow smooth all over the board. After its dry I trim off the access that has drooped down off the board. I usually follow up with a light second coat just to be sure everything got coated.
     
  12. GeekSpeed

    GeekSpeed Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Posts:
    247
    Location:
    SoCal
    Awesome, thanks guys.