Wire for 6V 12ah system ?

Discussion in 'Construction' started by Powder Monkey, Apr 2, 2008.

  1. JustinScott

    JustinScott Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Posts:
    2,211
    Location:
    Dallas

    IF you have am ammeter that can handle that much current!
     
  2. Powder Monkey

    Powder Monkey Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    Posts:
    1,394
    Nothing to unhook every thing is in a box till Saturday [:D]
     
  3. Tugboat

    Tugboat Facilitator RCWC Staff Admiral (Supporter)

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Posts:
    8,298
    Location:
    Statesboro, GA
    Well, unfortunately, nothing you measure without it being in the water will reflect real life current draw :(
     
  4. Powder Monkey

    Powder Monkey Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    Posts:
    1,394
    Shore you can you didn’t have much fun as a child did you where is your imagination if Jon Lennon can sing about it we can use it right?honey fill the bath tub I’m going in [:p]
     
  5. EricMA

    EricMA Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Posts:
    121
    You can use a clamp on amp meter. I use one at work all the time to check the amps in compressor in heat pumps and A/C s. There isn't a R/C ship out there that will pull enough amps that my meter can't handle. They sell a good one that is resonably priced at Home Depot and radio shack.
     
  6. djranier

    djranier Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Posts:
    1,756
    Yep just use a clamp on. Its also what I use, I have a smaller one, that fits into the boat with no problem.
     
  7. JustinScott

    JustinScott Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Posts:
    2,211
    Location:
    Dallas
    Clamp ons measure AC power... IF they pickup anything, it would be the noise being generated on the wire by the motor.
     
  8. Tugboat

    Tugboat Facilitator RCWC Staff Admiral (Supporter)

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Posts:
    8,298
    Location:
    Statesboro, GA
    Dang it, dang it dang it! Justin beat me to it :)

    No AC => no expanding and collapsing magnetic fields => no generator action => nothing for a clamp-on ammeter to measure.

    Also, even if you were running 6 or 12vac, the clamp-on ammeters in common use are calibrated for 110/220/440vac and the calibration wouldn't be valid for such low voltages, if it even picked them up at all.
     
  9. SnipeHunter

    SnipeHunter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Posts:
    1,363
    Actually they do make DC ones, google it if you dont believe me. They just sense the current differently.
     
  10. Tugboat

    Tugboat Facilitator RCWC Staff Admiral (Supporter)

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Posts:
    8,298
    Location:
    Statesboro, GA
    There are some, I admit that. Having googled it, they do exist, using hall-effect sensors (which really, you shouldn't need the 'clamp-on' part for...
     
  11. JustinScott

    JustinScott Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Posts:
    2,211
    Location:
    Dallas

    Really? I can't find any... show me?
     
  12. SnipeHunter

    SnipeHunter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Posts:
    1,363

    really? ok....

    go to
    Visit this site
    type in

    dc clamp ammeter

    hit the "im feeling lucky" button
    wait for page to load
    scroll down to section where it says Digital AC/DC Amps
    notice that they exist
     
  13. djranier

    djranier Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Posts:
    1,756
    Mine has a very small clamp, and will measure both AC or DC amps, AC or DC volts, and make resistance measurements.

    I put the boat in the water, clamp on the meter, hold the boat, and go to full throttle, so it actually shows a little higher current draw, since the boat is not also moving through the water, the props have a little more resistance.
     
  14. JustinScott

    JustinScott Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Posts:
    2,211
    Location:
    Dallas
    Wow! KKool! I want one!
     
  15. Tugboat

    Tugboat Facilitator RCWC Staff Admiral (Supporter)

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Posts:
    8,298
    Location:
    Statesboro, GA
    a clamp-on resistance meter? I call shenanigans.
     
  16. JustinScott

    JustinScott Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Posts:
    2,211
    Location:
    Dallas

    Its not a clamp on ohmmeter... it has leads too. Had to double check myself & then check to see if the leads were doing the DCA... don't seem to be.

    Here's the attachment I would need:

    Visit this site