Wood or Resin hulls?

Discussion in 'Construction' started by warhawk, Jan 1, 2011.

1. warhawk

warhawk New Member

I am still learning the hobby but wondering about hulls.

I see resin as a good strong option but I hear they are always uniformed hull thickness. I know this does not make a huge diff but when putting the deck on I see it could be a bit of a pain.
    On the other hand wood hulls if cut right should be very uniformed. But guessing they wieght is a little more with them. Guessing I have to coat the hole thing with resin/expoy to keep it from rotting over time. You don't have to fuss with cutting windows and that does scare me a bit.

Just wondering which you guys like working with best?

Thanks

2. Tugboat

Tugboat Facilitator RCWC Staff Admiral (Supporter)

I have examples of both types of hulls, in unreasonable quantity :) Battling-wise, it doesn't matter to me. A well-constucted ship of either type is going to do well on the water. I like building wooden hulls more than I do fiberglass hulls, but once they're together, I don't have a preference. You do have to watch the wooden parts of both over time for signs of rot (we're talking many years if the wood is properly waterproofed, I like West System or Maas beand epoxy for this). You may have a bit more room in a fiberglass hull (wood ribs take more space inside), but then you may have to reinforce the fiberglass with a wood rib, eliminating that advantage. With a new hull from BC or Strike Models, you won't have to reinforce it, both companies are putting out high-quality hulls. I think that a wooden hull assembled using joinery holds onto its caprail and deck assembly better than the epoxy joint in a fiberglass hull is capable of, but I've only had issues with that on older ships that were due for an overhaul anyway.