DKM Scharnhorst, Jim13csulb’s First Build

Discussion in 'Warship Builds' started by jim13csulb, May 18, 2019.

1. jim13csulb

jim13csulb Member

Hey everyone, my names James and I’m brand new to to RC warship combat and luckily I’m located in SoCal near a pretty active club. I hope to use this thread to document my build process and solicit information from those of you who are much more experienced than I am.

Why the DKM Scharnhorst:
    So why the Scharnhorst, honestly when I was starting to look at the various warships it was just a question of scrolling through Battlers Conmnection to see which ships there were that had more than just a hull. Being my first ship I wanted to get a bit more than just a hull to get the process started. I was actually leaning towards a VDT or an Italian cruiser because I liked how they looked, however I found the used Scharnhorst kit I picked up. You guys may recognize it from the sale page on here. I inadvertanily picked it up on eBay with a ‘best offer price’ that seemed like a great deal (at least to a newbie like me).

FEC4704B-1DCE-44FB-B758-CDC47813A7D6.jpeg

What I got so far:
    So I purchased the kit and it came with a hull, sub deck installed (sort of), all the turrets, a old style battlers connection bilge pump, prop, prop shaft (installed), and drive motor.

8F407620-F3B6-4547-BA33-3D1F4173829D.jpeg D64FE3BA-D46E-439D-8DDA-E465851C2248.jpeg

Just getting the ship and unwrapping it it I have a couple of concerns. The current motor mount appears to be just a PVC pipe, while not a problem, I haven’t seen a lot of people using that. Instead I have 3D printed a motor mount and think that it might be a better solution.
    2C04D232-89E9-4024-95BD-4501878F9F30.jpeg

Plan of Action