Fast Gun Texas--Operational

Discussion in 'Warship Builds' started by Anvil_x, Nov 22, 2017.

1. Anvil_x

Anvil_x Well-Known Member

Howdy!

So, my kit should be arriving pretty soon, and since this is this week's internet day (I live in an internet/cable free cabin in Alaska and have to ride 20 miles to get on the internet/food/mail etc), I figured I'd start this sucker up and hopefully you guys will have replied to some of my questions.

Last boat I built was a Northampton in 2001, and I've been doing 'Merica stuff and college for the past 16 years. so my basic skills (soldering, woodworking, etc) are all still good, but my MWC-related stuff (gun assembly, electrical systems) has all been dumped.

I'm building one of RCENGR's kits from Strike, and have spent a significant amount of time looking at all of your ships in the "stem to Stern" section for schematics, Ideas, etc. You guys have some rockin' ships.

I plan on going with some 28mm brushless motors and running a 6.6V system (about all I remember from building the Hamp was that I ran something something 6 volts, so I figure start with something I somewhat remember) Feel free to change my mind on system voltage.

Radio: One of the things I am glad about is that I saved the Airtronics VG400 from my Hamp. I gutted all of the servos and such out of her before I left home, and it was fortunate considering the Hamp disappeared while I was in Afghanistan (parents sold/tossed it) I have a receiver, three servos, one of my old throttle switches, a receiver battery, the TX, and charger.

I'm going to use a small pelican case for a watertight box, with ESCs running the motors and pump and the gun servo slapped in there. basically stealing the crap out of Maxspin's otter box design for his NC

I have no idea what the deal is with solenoids, so throw whatever knowledge you can at me. I've been lurking for two months and all of the threads on solenoids look like conversational Japanese to me.