Hello from SoCal

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by diceman42, Jun 25, 2023.

1. diceman42

diceman42 Member

Years ago in a magazine I ran across this hobby. I bought a kit for the HMS Exeter from SkunkWorks but life got in the way, and I never built it. My kid recently ran across a Youtube video of some RC warship action, and I pulled the box out of storage. Most of the paper is still in pretty good shape.

While I have some RC, and modeling experience. I've never built a RC boat let alone a warship.

notSoGnarly likes this.
  2. notSoGnarly

notSoGnarly Well-Known Member

diceman42 likes this.
  3. diceman42

diceman42 Member

Thanks, I've got a lot of videos to digest.

notSoGnarly likes this.
  4. notSoGnarly

notSoGnarly Well-Known Member

You're leagues ahead of me when I started. Folks here and on the discord will get ya there!

Unfortunately I don't know anyone in SoCal that battles. They might be there, I just don't know them.

diceman42 likes this.
  5. diceman42

diceman42 Member

According to the club locations section of the forum, SCRAP is in Pasadena, and they battle at lake in Chino. http://scrapcombatships.com/ So they aren't terribly far. Back when I first picked up the kit, I only found one club, and it was way up in NorCal.

6. JustinScott

JustinScott Well-Known Member

@Kotori87 - you're from cali originally... can you make some intros for diceman?

diceman42 likes this.
  7. Kotori87

Kotori87 Well-Known Member

I'll let the California Big Gunners on this forum introduce themselves. They're based out of Watsonville, although some of them travel from as far as Sacramento. Then there's crazy old me, driving all the way from Washington. There is also a Fast Gun club in the LA area, but I have not battled with them.

8. Litch42f

Litch42f Well-Known Member