Pola Build

Discussion in 'Warship Builds' started by chezbits, Jan 11, 2017.

1. chezbits

chezbits Member

Hello everyone!

I'm a newbie from California and have known about this hobby for a few years but never had the money to do it. Lurked on this site for a bit, things cleared up, decided to attended a few SCRAP meetings, then managed to started my ship. I posted here because I know for a fact that i'll run into problems later :v.

I decided to join Axis (Ha!) so I picked Pola. Got the pdf plan from profile morskie . Here is what I had done at the SCRAP build session.
    20170107_193050.jpg

I penciled in the subdeck and 1/8th weather deck before tracing. I also decided to simplify the build and straighten the curved top of the deck( no idea if i can do this but i did it anyway :v). 20170111_233050.jpg

Traced and cut out some ribs on my scroll saw. The mark at the top was me being torn on whether I should do a 1/8 or 1/4th inch subdeck. I think now i'll follow the Bearn tutorial and just reinforce a 1/8th subdeck since Pola's probably going to be tippy with this hull shape. Also, did I do the stringer slots properly?
    20170108_143320.jpg

Here I encountered an issue. I'm not sure if I should put the rib right behind the step or just disregard the scale and place the rib where it actually goes. What should I do? ( I penciled in some extra lines to help me visualise a bit)
    20170111_225758.jpg

One other question: Do the ribs have to be spaced evenly or can I just eliminate some from the middle of the ship? I assumed I could so I just removed a few amidships to meet the 15% rule with 1/4 ribs.

I eagerly await judgement :v

2. NickMyers

NickMyers Admin RCWC Staff

just make the step at the rib

If i recall the rules SCRAP runs with, like the IRC, you could extend your stringer to the next rib forward and aft, so you could have notched in #3 I think. Small potatytoes though.